What sparked my interest in taking better care of myself!

What made me realize that taking care of yourself is important? well I can name a couple of things, which I will get to in just a second. First I want to name a phrase that I now keep in my head: Your body is your temple! What does it take to build a strong temple that will take care of whats inside of it? The first and most important thing is a strong FOUNDATION! which leads into the first thing that made me want to change my life around….so here goes!

Growing up, health was never an option for my family and I. we ate whatever we wanted whenever we wanted and like most Americans, we didn’t know what exactly was in the food we were consuming or why it was harmful! Health starts with you and the people around you. I wasn’t taught at a young age that what you eat is literally what you become! Excuse my language but, when you eat bullshit, that’s what you become! Over the years, I’ve seen loved ones struggle with health issues like obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease and lets not forget about cancer. But why? I never understood where these issues stemmed from. Why was my grandmother taking so many pills everyday? Why were family members dying from these illnesses and how did they get them? Why weren’t they able to cure themselves? Its really quite simple. Other than possibly hereditary influences….they had extremely poor diets! And by diets I don’t mean starving themselves, I mean the things they ate were terrible! 

My grandmother passed away from cancer, my uncle is now a diabetic and my mother struggles with chest pains….I cant follow down this same path that many other people in my family have gone down. I feel as though I have to break this unhealthy cycle for my mom and uncle, my brother and my future seeds! I’ve chosen to dedicate my life to become the healthiest person I can be and I’m taking my family with me!

Over the past couple of years, I’ve had my own health issues as well. Knees hurting from walking up steps, out of breathe from simple activities, lower back pain from my gut hanging over my pants, acne and not to mention low self-esteem. You may ask why i’m so open about these things. Well its because i’m brave enough to admit i’m not perfect and I know there are many of you out there who struggle with these same issues and more! I’m sharing my story with you so that maybe you too can join this healthy movement. If not for anyone else, for YOURSELF! 

I know at the age of 23, I want to live a long healthy life. I don’t want to leave my family at a young age because of something that I did to myself that could have been prevented! I want my mom and uncle to see the age of 90 or maybe longer! I want to be there for my brother and my future children and grand and great grand children and i plan to do so!

So figure out what motivates you and make those life changes today! 

Who do you do it for?!

Leave a Reply

FroOlogy

Class is in session: Enjoy!

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Afros and Love Songs

Love, Life, Music, and Curls

TwentyFour

Beauty.Career.Inspiration.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Jeanettejenkins's Blog

How to Live a Healthy Lifestyle!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

